Business Standard

Three capitals of Andhra Pradesh: The plan on pause, not scrapped

All began with the division of Andhra Pradesh and Hyderabad becoming the capital of Telangana

Y S Reddy

Andhra Pradesh Chief Minister Jagan Mohan Reddy

Aditi Phadnis
Andhra Pradesh will have only one capital — Amaravati — for now. Opting for discretion over valour in the face of multiple judicial challenges, Chief Minister Jagan Mohan Reddy announced in the Legislative Assembly last week that the government was withdrawing legislation to create three capitals in the state which were to have been located at Visakhapatnam (executive), Kurnool (judicial), and Amaravati (legislative).

Reddy indicated the three-capital plan was not off the table but merely on pause. “Our intention of decentralised development of the state has been twisted and distorted. Also, legal hurdles were created and court cases filed,” he told

Don't miss the most important news and views of the day. Get them on our Telegram channel

First Published: Nov 28 2021 | 11:42 PM IST

Explore News

To read the full story, subscribe to BS Premium now, at just Rs 249/ month.

Key stories on are available only to BS Premium subscribers.

Register to