You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

74 per cent cast their vote in Rajasthan

Press Trust of India  |  Jaipur 

About 74 per cent of the 4.74 crore registered voters had cast their vote in where elections were held Friday for 199 of the 200 assembly seats.

At the close of the polling, the said the turnout 73.85 per cent, less than a percentage point short of the 75.23 registered in 2013.

Officials said the final figure could be higher.

Polling began at 51,687 booths across the state at 8 am. The police reported a few clashes among supporters, but said polling was largely peaceful.

Paramilitary jawans opened fire in the air to disperse miscreants trying to force their way into a booth at a village in Alwar's Shahjahapur.

In Bikaner's Kolayat, two groups clashed outside a polling booth and a vehicle was torched. In Sikar too there was a clash.

Minister Vasundhara Raje, Committee and other leaders were among those who exercised their franchise.

Raje (Jhalrapatan), (Tonk), former minister are among the 2,274 candidates in the fray.

The election in Ramgarh constituency of district was put off following the death of candidate

The results will be out on December 11, along with those from the other four states which saw Assembly elections in the past few weeks.

Raje, who is the BJP's chief ministerial candidate, is fighting against Jaswant Singh's son in Jhalrapatan, the constituency she has represented since 2003.

switched to the just before the election, making the fight tougher for Raje this time. She had won 63 per cent of the votes cast in 2013, winning the seat by a margin of 60,896.

Tonk, with a sizeable Muslim population, is a keenly-watched contest between and BJP Transport Minister Yoonus Khan, who is the saffron party's only Muslim face in the elections.

The had initially fielded sitting MLA in Tonk. But in a change of strategy, the party dropped him and sent Khan to take on Pilot.

This is a maiden assembly election for Pilot, a two-time who is seen as a chief ministerial possibility if the wins. He has represented Dausa and Ajmer Lok Sabha constituencies in the past.

In about 130 constituencies, the contest appears to be mainly between the BJP and the Congress.

In the current House, the BJP has 160 seats and the Congress 25.

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Fri, December 07 2018. 20:35 IST