You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

Voting begins in Rajasthan

Press Trust of India  |  Jaipur 

Polling began Friday morning for 199 Assembly seats out of the 200 in Rajasthan, a key state which the BJP is fighting to retain.

According to an official spokesperson, polling began at 8 am in all the 51,687 booths set up across the state.

Minister (Jhalrapatan), state Sachin Pilot (Tonk), former minister are among the 2,274 candidates in the fray.

The election in Ramgarh constituency of district was put off following the death of candidate

The results will be out on December 11, along with those from the other four states which saw Assembly elections in the past few weeks.

The outcome of the elections in Rajasthan, Telangana, Madhya Pradesh, and is expected to set the tone for the Lok Sabha contest next year.

Raje, who is the BJP's ministerial candidate, is fighting against Jaswant Singh's son in Jhalrapatan, the constituency she has represented since 2003.

switched to the just before the election, making the fight tougher for Raje this time. She had won 63 per cent of the votes cast in 2013, winning the seat by a margin of 60,896.

Tonk, with a sizeable Muslim population, is a keenly-watched contest between Sachin Pilot and BJP candidate and Transport Minister Yoonus Khan, who is the saffron party's only Muslim face in the elections.

The (BJP) had initially fielded sitting MLA in Tonk. But in a change of strategy, the party dropped him and sent Khan to take on Pilot.

This is a maiden assembly election for Pilot, a two-time who is seen as a chief ministerial possibility if the wins. He has represented Dausa and Ajmer Lok Sabha constituencies in the past.

Former Ashok Gehlot, who is also seen as a chief ministerial candidate for the Congress, is contesting from Sardarpura, a constituency he now represents.

Gehlot has been the chief minister twice.

In about 130 constituencies, the contest appears to be mainly between the BJP and the Congress.

In the current House, the BJP has 160 seats and the Congress 25.

gold medallist in Krishna Poonia is the Congress candidate in Sadulpur.

is a concern for both the parties. He founded the and has fielded 58 candidates.

The main BJP rebels include four ministers (Jaitaran), Hem Singh Bhadana (Thanagaji), (Banswara), (Ratangarh).

BJP MLAs (Dungarpur), Kishnaram Nai (Shri Dungargarh) and have also defied the party.

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Fri, December 07 2018. 08:20 IST