You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

Rajasthan polls: Over 20 per cent voter turnout in first three hours of voting

Press Trust of India  |  Jaipur 

Over 20 per cent of over 4.74 crore voters exercised their franchise in the first three hours of polling in Rajasthan Friday amid reports of EVMs malfunctioning at some polling booths

The polling began at 8 am and the voting turn out was 20.9 per cent at 11 am, poll officials said.

There were reports of some EVMs not working which delayed voting at a few polling booths. However, further details are awaited.

As many as 51,687 polling booths have been set up in 199 out of the total 200 assembly constituencies where polling is going on amid tight security.

A said polling was taking place peacefully and elaborate security arrangements are in place.

Minister Vasundhara Raje, Committee and other leaders were among those who exercised their franchise.

Raje (Jhalrapatan), (Tonk), former minister are among the 2,274 candidates in the fray.

The election in Ramgarh constituency of district was put off following the death of candidate

The results will be out on December 11, along with those from the other four states which saw Assembly elections in the past few weeks.

Raje, who is the BJP's chief ministerial candidate, is fighting against Jaswant Singh's son in Jhalrapatan, the constituency she has represented since 2003.

switched to the just before the election, making the fight tougher for Raje this time. She had won 63 per cent of the votes cast in 2013, winning the seat by a margin of 60,896.

Tonk, with a sizeable Muslim population, is a keenly-watched contest between and BJP Yoonus Khan, who is the saffron party's only Muslim face in the elections.

The had initially fielded sitting MLA in Tonk. But in a change of strategy, the party dropped him and sent Khan to take on Pilot.

This is a maiden assembly election for Pilot, a two-time who is seen as a chief ministerial possibility if the wins. He has represented Dausa and Ajmer Lok Sabha constituencies in the past.

In about 130 constituencies, the contest appears to be mainly between the BJP and the Congress.

In the current House, the BJP has 160 seats and the Congress 25.

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Fri, December 07 2018. 11:35 IST