You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

Congress' N P Prajapati new speaker of Madhya Pradesh Assembly

Press Trust of India  |  Bhopal 

MLA N P Prajapati was Tuesday elected of the 15th Legislative Assembly in the absence of MLAs who walked out in protest of the protem speaker's refusal to let the opposition party propose the name of its nominee for

Former has termed the development as a "black day for democracy".

After proceedings for the day began, the wanted to propose the name of its nominee for the post of Speaker, which was not allowed by protem Deepak Saxena.

The refusal by Saxena sparked protests with MLAs rushing to the Well of the House, forcing the protem to adjourn the proceedings twice for a period of ten minutes each.

After the House reassembled, BJP members announced boycott of proceedings and staged a walkout.

In the absence of BJP MLAs, members proposed the name of Prajapati, the MLA from Gotegaon, following which the ordered a voice vote. Prajapti secured all 120 votes of MLAs of and its allies.

In the 230-member House, the Congress has 114 MLAs and is supported by seven more MLAs - SP (1) and BSP (2) and four independents. BJP has 109 MLAs.

After the walkout, Chouhan termed the protem speaker's decision to not let BJP propose the name of the party nominee as "anti-democratic".

"This is the black day for democracy in the history of the legislative assembly," the former chief minister said.

Later, BJP MLAs walked in a march to to submit a memorandum on the issue to

The Kamal Nath-led Congress government came to power last month.

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Tue, January 08 2019. 14:20 IST