You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

EC orders re-poll in 19 polling stations of Outer Manipur LS constituency

Press Trust of India  |  Imphal 

The on Tuesday ordered re-poll in 19 polling stations of Outer Manipur parliamentary constituency following complaints of voter intimidation by militants and destruction of EVMs and VVPATs.

Repolling in these polling stations spread over four districts -- Senapati, Chandel, Churachandpur and -- will be held on April 18, the same day of voting for Inner Manipur Lok Sabha seat, according to an order by the of India (ECI).

Eleven polling stations in Senapati, four in Ukhrul, three in Churachandpur and one in Chandel will witness repolling.

In a communication to the returning of Outer Manipur Lok Sabha seat, ECI said the repoll has been ordered on the basis of reports of the and observers "after taking all material circumstances into account".

The BJP had filed complaint with the Manipur Chief Election last week, alleging voter intimidation by the cadre of the National Socialist Council for (NSCN-IM) to vote for the NPF's Outer Manipur candidate that went to polls in the first phase on April 11.

On the other hand, the NPF had also alleged that EVMs were tampered with by opening three rooms at Churachandpur DC office where these were kept after voting.

(CEO) P K Singh had stated that two polling booths at Poi in Chingai in district were ransacked by unidentified persons who also destroyed EVMs and VVPATs on April 11.

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Tue, April 16 2019. 19:05 IST