Business Standard

LS polls: Maha records 60.79% overall turnout


Press Trust of India Mumbai
Maharashtra recorded an average voter turnout of 60.79 per cent for all the 48 Lok Sabha seats that went to polls in four phases recently, as compared to 60.32 per cent polling in the 2014 polls.
For the 17 constituencies that went to polls in the final phase on April 29, the average voter turnout was recorded at 57.32 per cent, which was tad up from 55.72 per cent in these seats compared to the last elections.
As per the data shared by the Election Commission of India, over 50 lakh more voters have cast their vote in Maharashtra this time, compared to the last Lok Sabha elections.
Among the 17 constituencies, Nandurbar in North Maharashtra recorded the highest 68.31 per cent turnout while Kalyan the lowest at 45.28 per cent.
The constituencies where polling was held Monday are spread across the Mumbai metropolitan region and parts of northern and western Maharashtra.
"The state average turnout for the four phases during the current general elections is 60.79 per cent as against 60.32 per cent of the 2014 Lok Sabha polls," an ECI official said.
As many as 5,38,46,446 voters (out of total 8,85,64,566 registered voters) have exercised their franchise during the four phases of polling. It (the number) is higher by 51,77,292 votes compared to the 2014 number of 4,86,69,154, as per the data.
Final voting figures in remaining 15 out of the 17 seats are: Dhule-56.68 per cent, Dindori- 65.76 per cent, Nashik- 59.43 per cent, Palghar- 63.72 per cent, Bhiwandi- 53.07 per cent, Thane- 49.21 per cent, Mumbai North- 60 per cent, Mumbai North West 54.23 per cent, Mumbai North East- 56.85 per cent, Mumbai North Central- 53.64 per cent, Mumbai South Central- 55.23 per cent, Mumbai South- 51.46 per cent, Maval- 59.49 per cent, Shirur- 59.40 per cent and Shirdi- 64.54 per cent.
In the first phase of the ongoing Lok Sabha polls in Maharashtra held on April 11, 61.81 per cent voter turnout was recorded in the seven constituencies in Vidarbha.
In the second phase of election held on April 18, which covered ten constituencies of Marathwada, Vidarbha and Western Maharashtra, 62.43 per cent polling was registered.
In the third phase covering 14 constituencies of North Maharashtra, Marathwada, Western Maharashtra and Konkan, 62.37 per cent voting was registered. Polls there were conducted on April 23.

Disclaimer: No Business Standard Journalist was involved in creation of this content

Don't miss the most important news and views of the day. Get them on our Telegram channel

First Published: Apr 30 2019 | 9:50 PM IST

Explore News