Business Standard

Maharashtra make winning start, tame Andhra Pradesh 3-0


Press Trust of India Mumbai
Maharashtra today made a winning start as they blanked Andhra Pradesh 3-0 in their opening Group-B league match of the AIFF Junior National Football Championship 2017-2018 (Tier-II) for the BC Roy Trophy, being played in Una, Himachal Pradesh.

After a barren first half, Maharashtra came into their own, and showed complete dominance scoring three times during this period to come out worthy winners, a media release issued here said.

Substitute Aryan Banerjee, who replaced skipper Bhuvan Jerpoth, scored the first goal in the 53rd minute before Johnson Mathews scored the second 10 minutes later to double Maharashtras lead. Five minutes later, Sandesh Kasar, who came in as a substitute for Shantanu Ningurkar, struck the third goal to complete the victory.

Results Group-B: Maharashtra 3 (Aryan Banerjee, Johnson Mathews, Sandesh Kasar) beat Andhra Pradesh 0.

Disclaimer: No Business Standard Journalist was involved in creation of this content

Don't miss the most important news and views of the day. Get them on our Telegram channel

First Published: Jan 29 2018 | 9:00 PM IST

Explore News