You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

Pro-Nitish legislators fear horse-trading in Bihar RS polls

Press Trust of India  |  Patna 

A group of JD(U) legislators loyal to former chief minister Nitish Kumar today alleged that many party legislators were being offered money to vote for Independent candidates in the election to the three Rajya Sabha seats in Bihar to be held on June 19.

Over 20 such MLAs, MLCs and ministers held a meeting at the residence of JD(U) MLA Manjit Kumar Singh to discuss the issue and urged Election Commission and Income Tax department to keep an eye on horse-trading for the polls.

Hefty sums of money were offered to party legislators to get them to vote for Independents, Singh told reporters after the meeting.

"BJP has put up its MLC and treasurer Dilip Kumar Jaiswal as an Independent candidate for the Rajya Sabha by-elections. It is also supporting two other Independents, Anil Sharma and Sabir Ali," the MLA from Baikunthpur said.

"Instead of indulging in such tactics, it should have fielded its own candidates," he said, adding that evidence was being collected to make a foolproof case of horse-trading by Independent candidates.

No candidate has been fielded against JD(U) president Sharad Yadav, who is contesting the seat vacated by LJP chief Ram Vilas Paswan. However, for the other two seats, three Independent candidates have submitted papers against JD(U) candidates Ghulam Rasool Baliyawi and diplomat-turned- politician Pawan Kumar Varma.

Apart from Jaiswal, the Independent aspirants are real estate baron Anil Sharma, who had unsuccessfully contested Lok Sabha polls on a JD(U) ticket from Jehanabad, and expelled party leader Sabir Ali.

"We appeal to EC and the IT department to take cognisance of the situation and act to stop horse-trading," Singh said.

The rebels, who are also supporting the Independents, are claiming that they have the support of 30 to 40 MLAs, he added.

The pro-Nitish Kumar legislators called upon the rebels to resign from their seats before indulging in anti-party activities. They also indicated that JD(U) chief whip Shravan Kumar would initiate action against them after the election process was over.

Ministers Nitish Mishra, Shravan Kumar, Shyam Rajak, Awadhesh Kushwaha, Naushad Alam, Manoj Kushwaha, Ranju Geeta, Lesi Singh, Dulal Chand Goswami, Vinay Bihari, Jai Kumar Singh and Vinod Yadav attended the meeting besides legislators Rajesh Kumar Singh, Sanjay Kumar Singh, Shiv Prasanna Yadav, Sangita Singh, Kavita Singh, among others.

Dear Reader,

Business Standard has always strived hard to provide up-to-date information and commentary on developments that are of interest to you and have wider political and economic implications for the country and the world. Your encouragement and constant feedback on how to improve our offering have only made our resolve and commitment to these ideals stronger. Even during these difficult times arising out of Covid-19, we continue to remain committed to keeping you informed and updated with credible news, authoritative views and incisive commentary on topical issues of relevance.
We, however, have a request.

As we battle the economic impact of the pandemic, we need your support even more, so that we can continue to offer you more quality content. Our subscription model has seen an encouraging response from many of you, who have subscribed to our online content. More subscription to our online content can only help us achieve the goals of offering you even better and more relevant content. We believe in free, fair and credible journalism. Your support through more subscriptions can help us practise the journalism to which we are committed.

Support quality journalism and subscribe to Business Standard.

Digital Editor

First Published: Tue, June 10 2014. 22:56 IST