You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

Tejashwi Yadav meets Bihar governor, stakes claim to form govt

Press Trust of India  |  Patna 

In a ripple effect stemming from developments in Karnataka, Tejashwi Yadav, accompanied by the Congress, (HAM) and CPI(ML) leaders, called on today, and staked claim to form government in

During the meeting with the governor, Yadav demanded that RJD, being the single largest party in the state and also constituting the single largest pre-poll alliance should be invited to form government.

"We met the and submitted a memorandum stating that we have support of 111 MLAs, those of my own party as well as our allies -- the and the -- besides CPI(ML).

"We said that we have 111 MLAs together and if we are asked for floor test, we are confident of winning, as more legislators are likely to vote in our favour," he told reporters outside the Raj Bhavan.

Yadav, who is the Opposition in the Assembly, said, "The point we are trying to make is that there has to be one rule in the country. If the Governor's decision to invite the BJP on the ground of it being the single largest party was proper, then the same yardstick should be applied to The RJD, by virtue of its being the single largest party in the state, should be allowed to form government here."

The was relegated to opposition in last year after the JD(U) walked away from the three-party alliance, which also involved the Congress, and joined hands with the BJP to form a new government under Nitish Kumar.

In the 243-member Bihar Assembly, the is the single-largest party with 80 MLAs, while JD(U) has 71 legislators and the BJP has 53. NDA constituent LJP and have two seats each. The has 27 MLAs.

The BJP, which emerged as the single largest party with 104 seats in Assembly, was invited by to form government despite the JD(S)-combine staking claim by citing the support of 117 MLAs. The Congress won 78 seats and the JD(S) 37.

The majority mark in Assembly is 112 seats. Elections were held for all but two of the 224 seats.

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Fri, May 18 2018. 15:05 IST