You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

Who is your CM candidate for Odisha: Patnaik asks BJP

Press Trust of India  |  Bhubaneswar 

Minister and BJD president on Saturday asked the to name its ministerial

"The people of want to know who is the BJP's ministerial candidate, from where s/he is contesting the elections," said, addressing an election meeting at Daspalla under Kandhamal Lok Sabha constituency, which is going to polls in the second phase on April 18.

Alleging that the was afraid of announcing the name of its in Odisha, he also took a dig at the saffron party's "double engine" slogan.

was referring to leaders' frequent call to the people of to ensure a "double engine" government (the government in Odisha as well as in Delhi) for better development of the state.

"That engine did not come to the state when people were encountering calamities like cyclone and floods. Though the engine came after calamities, it went to and not to Odisha," the CM said.

Earlier, Patnaik had alleged that the BJP-led NDA government did not provide adequate assistance to cyclone-hit Odisha, even as it helped neighbouring

"This engine will leave the state after the elections. Where is BJP's Odisha engine?" he asked.

"The four and half crore of people in Odisha are my family, and I will serve them till the last breath," Patnaik said.

Addressing another election rally in in district, he said the people of the locality will create a history this time by electing women self-help group (WSHG) member to the Lok Sabha.

Apart from fielding a WSHG member as its candidate for the Lok Sabha seat, BJD also has four other women candidates contesting from different assembly segments in the same Parliamentary constituency.

"You (the people of Aska) are going to create a history by electing a WSHG member to the Lok Sabha and send four women to the state assembly," Patnaik said.

Alleging that both the opposition BJP and the have fielded "criminal elements" as candidates in district, the said he will not allow breach of peace in the region.

The second phase of polling will be held on April 18 in Bargarh, Sundargarh, Bolangir, Kandhamal and Lok Sabha segments, along with 35 assembly constituencies under their jurisdictions.

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Sun, April 14 2019. 00:35 IST