You are here: Home » Economy & Policy » News
Business Standard

US allows India, 7 other nations to buy oil from Iran even after sanctions

US allies South Korea and Japan have received waivers along with India, which relies heavily on supplies from Iran, a list of all countries getting waivers is expected to be released on Monday

Arshad Mohammed Lesley Wroughton & Patricia Zengerle | Reuters  |  Singapore 

The United States said on Friday it would temporarily allow eight importers to keep buying Iranian oil when it reimposes sanctions on Monday to try to force Iran to curb its nuclear, missile and regional activities. US Secretary of State Mike Pompeo, who announced the decision, did not name the eight, which he referred to as “jurisdictions”, a term that might include importers such as Taiwan, which the United States does not regard as a country. However, he said the European Union as a whole, which has 28 members, would not receive a waiver. Turkish Energy Minister ...

This article is no longer available in our repository.

There could be multiple reasons for this.

First Published: Fri, November 02 2018. 12:51 IST