You are here: Home » Government Press Release » News
Business Standard

Sh. Ashok Lavasa takes over as new Election Commissioner


Sh. Ashok Lavasa takes over as new Commissioner

Shri Ashok Lavasa today assumed charge as the new Commissioner (EC) of India.

Born on 21st October, 1957, Shri Lavasa a 1980 batch IAS officer from Haryana cadre, superannuated on 31st October, 2017 as Finance Secretary of India. During 37 years of his long active service he held various crucial positions in State Government of Haryana and in the Central Government.

He served in key positions namely, Principal Secretary and Financial Commissioner (Renewable Energy Sources, Power), Chief Coordinator (Industries), Resident Commissioner of Haryana, Managing Director of Haryana State Federation of Co-operative Sugar Hills (HSFCOSHL), Director of Haryana State Industrial Development Cooperation (HSIDC), Union Finance Secretary, Union Environment, Forests and Climate Change Secretary, Union Civil Aviation Secretary, Special Secretary in the Ministry of Power, Joint Secretary in the M/o Home Affairs and several other important positions.

During his tenure at Commission there would be General Elections to Legislative Assemblies of almost 28 states including ongoing General Election in states of Meghalaya, Nagaland and Tripura. Besides this, General Election to the Lok Sabha in 2019 would also be held during his tenure.


(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Tue, January 23 2018. 20:20 IST