You are here: Home » News-ANI » Business
Business Standard

Narendra Modi to address USIBC's 41st 'Annual Leadership Summit'

ANI  |  New Delhi 

The US-India Council (USIBC) announced that Prime Minister Narendra Modi will address its 41st Annual Leadership Summit in Washington DC.

The anniversary event of USIBC will witness top and government leaders as a forum for engaging in discussions on deepening US-India commercial and strategic ties.

The Prime Minister's address will be on June 7th, ahead of his address to the Joint Session of the US Congress. As part of the USIBC annual summit, Prime Minister Modi will also participate in a roundtable with top global CEOs.

"It's a privilege for USIBC to welcome Prime Minister Modi on his fourth visit to the US, particularly in light of the advancement of our countries' relationship over the past two years. India became the top global FDI destination in 2015 - attracting USD 63 billion - fueled by PM Modi's ability to attract foreign investors and to build a globally competitive environment in India," said USIBC President Dr. Mukesh Aghi.

"The US-India bilateral relationship has also matured significantly over the last few years, and extends beyond the leadership of the two countries. The council's annual summit not only honors strategic and commercial aspects of the bilateral ties, but also celebrates people-to-people ties that have come to define the opportunities between the two nations," added Dr. Aghi.

In keeping with the annual award tradition, this year's honorees for the USIBC Global Leadership Award are Amazon Founder and CEO Jeff Bezos, and Founder and Managing Director of Sun Pharmaceuticals Dilip Shanghvi.

"Jeff and Dilip are two leaders that are shaping the US-India trade ties with their incredible acumen and have made a lasting impression in integrating India into the global economy," said Dr. Aghi.

"We couldn't think of more qualified icons that are emblematic of the immense potential of our trade relationship. We are honored to be presenting the 2016 Global Leadership Award to them," he added.

Last year, the council's 40th Annual Leadership Summit served as the official kick-off to the US-India Strategic and Commercial Dialogue and hosted Vice President of the United States Joe Biden, US Secretary of State John Kerry; US Secretary of Commerce Penny Pritzker, Minister of State for Commerce and Industry Nirmala Sitharaman, Minister of State with Independent Charge for Power, Coal and New and Renewable Energy Piyush Goyal, among others.

Last year's business honorees were Indra Nooyi, CEO and Chairperson, PepsiCo, and Shobhana Bhartia, Editorial Director of the Hindustan Times Group.

First Published: Fri, May 06 2016. 12:51 IST