You are here: Home » News-IANS » Politics
Business Standard

All 4 Indian-American members of Congress re-elected

IANS  |  New York 

All the four members of the of Representatives were re-elected in Tuesday's election and a member of the community won the Attorney General's position in state.

Raja Krishnamoorthi, who represents a constituency near in Illinois, won about 66 percent of the votes to defeat his Indian-American challenger J.D. Diganvker of the

The other candidates re-elected were Pramila Jeyapal from Washington State, and and from

Together with the only of Indian descent, Kamala Harris, they make up what they themselves jokingly call "The Samosa Caucus," Harris won from in 2016 did not face a re-election as she has a six-year term.

None of the other Indian Americans running for made it.

In a sign of the Indian-American community's growing political involvement, Democrat was elected of in a tight race with a margin of about 1 percent of the votes, although his victory is likely to be challenged by his Republican rival.

He will be the second Indian-American The first is Gurbir Grewal, a turban-wearing Sikh, in where are not elected but appointed by the

Kaul is the fourth Indian-American to win a state-wide election, which sets the stage for him to run for other higher offices. The first was Piyush Bobby Jindal, elected in 2007 who was followed by Nikki Haley, elected in 2010; both are Republicans. The third is Harris.

Shiva Ayyadurai, who ran as an Independent against Massachusetts Democratic Elizabeth Warren, lost badly, getting only about 3.5 percent of the votes.

Warren has claimed Native American or American Indian ancestry and Ayyadurai ran a controversial campaign with the headline, "Only a real Indian can defeat a fake Indian'.

At least seven other Indians ran for on tickets but lost according to a database of the and Desis for Progress, which had endorsed them.

Harry Arora, who ran for the as a Republican from Connecticut, lost.

The database also showed that six Indian-American Democrats had been elected to State legislatures for the first time.

(can be reached at and followed on Twitter @arulouis)



(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Wed, November 07 2018. 22:34 IST