Business Standard

IPEF versus Rcep

The IPEF has military ramifications, but the Rcep does not

Illustration: Binay Sinha

Illustration: Binay Sinha

Jaimini Bhagwati
The Quadrilateral Security Dialogue or the Quad countries — India, the US, Japan and Australia — had a Summit meeting in Tokyo on May 24. The US had suggested an Indo-Pacific Economic Framework (IPEF) grouping of countries earlier, and the US President announced the formation of a 14-nation IPEF in Tokyo on May 23. 

Specifically, the IPEF includes the four Quad countries plus South Korea, New Zealand, Fiji and seven out of the 10 members of the Association of South-East Asian Nations (Asean). The stated objectives of the IPEF are to promote trade, clean energy, infrastructure and strengthen supply chains.
Disclaimer: These are personal views of the writer. They do not necessarily reflect the opinion of or the Business Standard newspaper

Don't miss the most important news and views of the day. Get them on our Telegram channel

First Published: Jul 27 2022 | 11:02 PM IST

Explore News

To read the full story, subscribe to BS Premium now, at just Rs 249/ month.

Key stories on are available only to BS Premium subscribers.

Register to