You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

BJP fields actor Ravi Kishan from Gorakhpur, drops MP caught in 'shoe' row

Press Trust of India  |  New Delhi 

In a surprise move, the BJP Monday announced Bhojpuri film star as its candidate from Gorakhpur, the bastion of UP Yogi Adityanath, and dropped its MP Sharad Tripathi, who had left his party red-faced by beating an MLA with shoes.

In its list of seven more candidates, the BJP shifted sitting MP Praveen Nishad, who had won as the joint SP-BSP candidate in bypoll in 2018 but joined the saffron party recently, to and fielded Tripathi's father from Deoria.

kicked-up a row last month after he beat BJP MLA with shoes during an official meeting in the state.

The decision to bring Ramapati Ram Tripathi, a former president, out of political hibernation into electoral field, underscores the party's thrust to keep its of Brahmins in good humour after it decided against renominating Kalraj Mishra, who is above 75 years of age.

The BJP has put an age bar of 75 years for its candidates in the ongoing polls.

Last year, Nishad had defeated BJP's Upendra Shukla in bypoll in a surprise win, after Adityanath, who had represented the seat five times since 1998, became the

However, Nishad joined the BJP earlier this month after the turned down his demand to contest as a candidate of Nishad Party, headed by his father His party had also ended its alliance with the SP-BSP and joined hands with the BJP.

The candidature of Ravi Kishan, a political lightweight, is seen by political watchers as Adityanath's move to keep his bastion firmly under his watch as the is unlikely to cultivate any independent clout of his own in the constituency, which has been associated for decades with Gorakhnath Math headed currently by the

With the list of candidates releases by the party Monday, the BJP has so far announced candidates for 420 Lok Sabha seats for the seven-phase elections, ending on May 19.

The saffron party has fielded UP from Ambedkar Nagar and given ticket to Sangam Lal Gupta from Pratapgarh, the parliamentary constituency that was won by BJP ally Apna Dal in 2014.

The party has fielded KP Singh from Jaunpur and from Bhadohi.

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Mon, April 15 2019. 21:05 IST