You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

BJP's Rijiju defeats sitting MP Sanjoy in Arunachal West seat

Press Trust of India  |  Itanagar 

candidate Kiren Rijiju dethroned sitting MP Takam Sanjoy by a margin of 41,738 votes in the Arunachal West parliamentary seat while Union Minister of State for Minority Affairs Ninong Ering was leading in the Arunachal East constituency by a margin of 13,884 votes till reports last came in.

While Rijiju polled 1,69,367 votes, Sanjoy could manage to bag 1,27,629 votes followed by Jalley Sonam (PPA, 13,892 votes), Habung Payeng (AAP, 3,508), Gumjum Haidar (TMC, 8,817), Gicho Kabak (NCP, 5,875), Taba Taku (Lok Bharti, 941) and Subu Kechi (Independent, 2,322).

A total of 1,798 voters opted for the None Of The Above option.

In 2009, both Sanjoy and Ering had won their seats by a margin of 1,314 and 68,449 votes, respectively.

had wrested both seats, known to be bastions, in 2004 when the party's candidates, Rijiju and Gao, won by margins of 47,424 votes in Arunachal West and 44,994 in (Arunachal East, respectively.

According to political analysts here, the anti-incumbency factor was the main reason behind Congress's loss in the Arunachal West seat.

First Published: Sat, May 17 2014. 01:55 IST