You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

BJP wins all 3 mayoral seats in Chandigarh civic body

Press Trust of India  |  Chandigarh 

The won the posts of mayor, and deputy of Municipal Corporation, the voting for which was held here today.

Davesh Moudgil won the post of mayor, Gurpreet Singh Dhillon and Vinod Aggarwal in the 27-member Municipal Corporation, an office spokesman said here after counting.

Moudgil will be the 22nd mayor of Municipal Corporation.

Moudgil bagged 22 votes as against his rival who got five votes.

Dhillon got 21 votes as against rival Sheela Phool Singh who got six votes.

Aggarwal got 22 votes as against candidate who got four votes, while one vote was declared invalid.

In the 27-member Chandigarh Municipal Corporation, the strength of councillors is 20, Congress four, Shiromani Akali Dal (SAD) one, Independent one and one vote is of sitting of the

The nine nominated councillors could not vote this year as their right to exercise franchise was struck down by the and High Court in August 2017.

In the run-up to the polls, the BJP despite having a brute majority witnessed rift within the party which was sorted out yesterday.

BJP rebel and outgoing mayor and Ravi Kant Sharma had earlier filed their nominations as Independents, but after a truce with Moudgil they withdrew from the race yesterday.

Moudgil is considered close to former BJP Satya Pal Jain.

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Tue, January 09 2018. 15:20 IST