You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

Garhwal's Pauri district provides two CMs in two days

Press Trust of India  |  Dehradun 

Having provided two chief ministers to key north Indian states -- Trivendra Singh Rawat in and in Uttar Pradesh, the hill district of Pauri finds itself at the centre-stage.

Adityanath, who took over as chief minister of UP today hails from village Panchur village in Pauri in while Rawat who was sworn in yesterday belongs to Khairsain village in the same district.

Both the chief ministers, who command massive three-fourths majority in their respective state assemblies, have another similarity. They are bachelors.

Though representing Gorakhpur seat of UP in the consecutively since 1998, Adityanath was born in 1972 in Panchur in undivided Uttar Pradesh.

Originally named Singh Bisht, did his graduation from college, Kotdwar before coming to Rishikesh for post graduation where he came into contact with the chief of Gorakshpeeth Mahant Avaidyanath and became his disciple.

It is learnt that Yogi last visited his parents in Panchur village recently when he came to campaign for BJP leader Satpal Maharaj who was the contested from Chaubatakhal constituency.

Yogi's counterpart Rawat on the other hand belongs to Khairasain village of Pauri, a district, which also enjoys the unique distinction of having given the maximum number of chief ministers to the hill state after it was formed.

Uttarakhand has seen nine CMs in the 16 years, of which four hail from Pauri district including Bhuvan Chandra Khanduri, Ramesh Pokhriyal Nishank, Vijay Bahuguna and now Trivendra Singh Rawat.

Significantly, the Army Chief General Bipin Rawat, National Security Advisor Ajit Doval and RAW head Anil Dhasmana also hail from the Pauri district.

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Sun, March 19 2017. 18:32 IST