You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

India to compete in Asia Rugby Championship at Chinese Taipei

Press Trust of India  |  Mumbai 

The Indian Men's Rugby XVs team is set to compete at the Rugby Championship Divison 2 Rugby XVs - to be held in from November 15 to 18.

The team, supported by Societe Generale, is participating under the aegis of the Indian Rugby Football Union (IRFU).

A total of four countries from across Asia, including Singapore, Thailand, and host Chinese Taipei, will vie for top honours, a media release issued here said.

The players, shortlisted to join the Indian national training camp, were selected during The Senior National Rugby Sevens Championships (men and women) held in and the 84th All & South Rugby XVs Championship which was held at the Calcutta Cricket & Football Club in October.

The 25 players selected to represent are - Mohit Khatri, Prince Khatri Neeraj Khatri, Vikas Khatri, Sourabh Dubal, Deepak Punia, Bhupendra Bokan (all from Haryana), Hitesh Dagar, Dagar, Mankotia, Nitin Dagar, Gautam Dagar, Monu Yadav (all from Delhi), Anand Godiwala, Pappu Todkar (all from Maharashtra) Parvender Singh, Shokendar, Surinder Singh, Sujai Lama Suresh Sajwan, Samser Singh (all services SSCB), Muna Murmu (Odisha) Suraj Prasad, Suraj Veer Sharma (all from West Bengal) and Roshan Lobo (Karnataka).

Coach Henry Paul is former England Rugby Union player.

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Tue, November 14 2017. 10:07 IST