Business Standard

Maha govt declares phase-wise holiday for LS polls


Press Trust of India Mumbai
The Maharashtra government on Saturday declared holiday on the four days the state will have Lok Sabha polls.
The 48 Lok Sabha seats in Maharashtra will see voting in four phases on April 11, 18, 23 and 29.
The holiday will be in force in the seats that go to polls on their respective dates.
This holiday is applicable to those employees who are away from their parliament constituency.
Besides, state and central government offices, semi-government offices, public sector enterprises, and non-agriculture and other universities, deemed universities, education institutions will also have a holiday.
The government clarified that its notification will cover all autonomous corporations under the central government and establishments.
In the first phase on April 11, polls will be held for Wardha, Ramtek, Nagpur, Bhandara-Gondiya, Gadchiroli-Chimur, Chandrapur and Yavatmal-Washim parliamentary constituencies.
On April 18, Buldhana, Akola, Amravati, Hingoli, Nanded, Parbhani, Beed, Osmanabad, Latur and Solapur will go to polls.
In the third phase on April 23, polling will be held for Jalgaon, Raver, Jalna, Aurangabad, Raigad, Pune, Baramati, Ahmednagar, Madha, Sangli, Satara, Ratnagiri-Sindhudurg, Kolhapur and Hatkanangale seats.
The fourth and the last phase, on April 29, will see voting in Nandurbar, Dhule, Dindori, Nashik, Palghar, Bhiwandi, Kalyan, Thane, Mumbai North, Mumbai North-East, Mumbai North-Central, Mumbai North-West, Mumbai SouthCentral, Mumbai South, Maval, Shirur and Shirdi Lok Sabha seats.

Disclaimer: No Business Standard Journalist was involved in creation of this content

Don't miss the most important news and views of the day. Get them on our Telegram channel

First Published: Mar 30 2019 | 10:10 PM IST

Explore News