You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

Sacked TMC MLAs, rebel Cong legislator vote for Kovind

Press Trust of India  |  Agartala 

Six sacked MLAs of (TMC) and one opposition out of the total 60 in assembly today voted for NDA's presidential candidate Ram Nath Kovind.

"We six MLAs have cast our votes in favour of Ramnath Kovind. We had announced it earlier itself because we cannot vote for a candidate who was supported by CPI-M," Sudip Burman, leader of the group of sacked TMC MLAs told reporters.

Burman and five other MLAs were sacked from TMC after they had openly announced their support for Kovind.

Rebel Ratan Lal Nath, who too had earlier announced that he would vote for the candidate, told newsmen that he had voted for Kovind.

Additional Debasish Modak said Speaker Ramendra Chandra Debnath cast his vote in assembly as he is in for treatment, while the two members from the state and its lone member voted in the in

Fifty MLAs of the ruling including Chief Minister Manik Sarkar, Finance Minister Bhanu Lal Saha and Health Minister Badal Chowdhury cast their votes in the state assembly.

Two other Congress MLAs - Birajit Sinha and Gopal Roy also exercised their franchise here.

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Mon, July 17 2017. 17:43 IST