You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

South Africa, Germany, Belgium elected non-permanent UNSC members

Press Trust of India  |  United Nations 

The UN today elected South Africa, Indonesia, Dominican Republic, and as non-permanent members of the powerful for a two-year term beginning January 1, 2019.

Voting was held today in the 193-member to fill the seats that will be vacated by Bolivia, Ethiopia, and this year.

The five non-permanent members were elected according to the following pattern: two seats for the Group of African states and the Group of states, one for the Group of Latin American and states, and two seats for Western European and other states.

The has 15 members, including five permanent ones. The five permanent members, each with the power of veto, are China, France, Russia, the UK and the US. The 10 non-permanent members are elected for two-year terms each.

The most powerful UN organ, the is responsible for determining the existence of a threat against peace and to respond to an act of aggression. It is also responsible for finding peaceful means to settle a conflict or a dispute between states. In some cases, the Council can resort to sanctions or even authorise the use of force to maintain or restore international peace and security.

The Security Council also recommends to the the appointment of the UN and the admission of new members to the UN.

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Fri, June 08 2018. 21:05 IST