You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

Ten Karna ministers bite the dust in polls

Press Trust of India  |  Bengaluru 

At least 10 ministers fell by the wayside as they lost their seats in an anti-incumbency wave that swept the government out of power in the assembly polls.

himself lost by a huge margin of 36,042 votes in his traditional constituency of Chamundeshwari in Mysuru to JDS' G T Deve Gowda.

He, however, managed to scrape through in Badami in north Karnataka, where he won by a slender margin of 1,696 votes after a see-saw battle against BJP's B Sriramulu, a close associate of the baron Reddy brothers.

Siddaramaiah's close H C Mahadevappa (55,451 votes) lost to JDS M Ashwin Kumar (83,929 votes) in T Narsipura.

Ramanath Rai (81,831 votes) was defeated by BJP's U (97,802 votes) in Bantwal in district.

In Holalkere, H Anjaneya (69,036 votes) lost to BJP's M Chandrappa (1,07,976 votes).

Dr (73,468 votes) lost to BJP's Rajkumar Patil (80,668 votes) in Sedam.

SS Mallikarjun (72,469 votes) was defeated by BJP's S A Ravindranath (76,540 votes) in Davanagere.

Octogenerian and the oldest candidate to contest, Kagodu Thimappa (70,436 votes) lost to BJP's H Halappa Harathalu (78,475 votes) in Sagara.

Basavaraj Rayareddi (65,754 votes) lost to BJP's Char Halappa Basappa (79,072 votes) in Yelburga while Rudrappa Lamani (75,261 votes) conceded his seat to BJP's Neharu Olekar (86,565 votes) in Haveri.

Pramod Mdhwaraj (72,902 votes) was defeated by BJP's Raghupathi Bhat (84,946 votes) in Udupi.

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Tue, May 15 2018. 19:20 IST