You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

BJP sweeps coastal K'taka; wins 18 out of 21 seats

Press Trust of India  |  New Delhi 

Riding a Modi wave, the has swept coastal by winning 18 out of 21 assembly seats there, regaining control over the region known as a communal tinderbox.

The managed to secure only three seats, down from 13 seats, while JD(S) failed to open its account this election as well.

It may be noted that had bagged 14 seats during 2008 assembly poll, when it first formed a government in the state, but it fell sharply to five in 2013 due to a split in the party.

Out of eight seats in district in 2018 assembly poll, candidate and sitting MLA U T won Mangalore seat by 19,739 seats, defeating BJP's Santhosh Kumar Rai Boliyaru, as per the official data.

The other seven seats in the district were won by candidates (from Bantwal), Bharath Shetty (Mangalore north), Vedavyas Kamath (Mangalore south), (Moodabidri), Sanjeev Matandoor (Puttur), Angara S (Sullia) and (Bethangady).

Out of six seats in district, BJP won four seats -- Sunil Biliya Naik (Bhatkal), (Karwar), (Kumta) and (Sirsi)

Congress's R V Deshpande retained Haliyal seat and A H Shivaram won from Yellapur.

Whereas in district, from where kick-started the election campaign, the BJP secured all five seats this time, up from one seat from last poll.

B M Sukumar Shetty (Byndoor), V Sunil Kumar (Karkala), (Kapu), (Kundapura) and (Udupi) from the BJP won the seats here.

In Kodagu, BJP candidates Appachu Ranjan M P won from Madikeri and K G Bopiah from Virajpet seat.

Though emerging as the single largest party, the BJP is short of the majority mark 112. has extended support to JD(S) to form the government in the southern state.

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Tue, May 15 2018. 19:15 IST