You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

TMC continues to add glitz and glamour to poll arena

Press Trust of India  |  Kolkata 

Continuing with her penchant for bringing in silver screen personalities to politics, Trinamool supremo has fielded five film stars, including two greenhorns, for the coming elections.

In the 2014 general elections, Banerjee had fielded the same number of cinestars and all the five had won.

It was Banerjee who had in 2009 started the practice of fielding people from the glamour world in elections, which was considered to be the forte of southern states.

Of the 42 constituencies in West Bengal, the TMC had won 19 seats in 2009 and 34 in 2014.

The party also adds a dash of colour to major public meetings, where celebrities from the film and television world assemble.

Fielding of Mimi Chakraborty, a popular in and a political greenhorn, from the prestigious Jadavpur constituency for the 2019 elections has come as a surprise to many.

It was from this constituency in the city that Mamata Banerjee had burst into electoral politics in 1984 as a young candidate, by handing a stunning defeat to incumbent and towering Somnath Chatterjee of the CPI(M).

Sugata Bose, a and Affairs at the held the seat as a in the outgoing 16th Reportedly, he has not been given permission by the university to contest the elections this time.

Another political greenhorn and Bengali film has been fielded from Basirhat in North 24 district, a seat now held by TMC's

Banerjee has said Ali will contest in an Assembly by-election.

Apart from these two, actors and sitting MPs Deepak Adhikari, popularly known as Dev, and Munmum Sen will also contest.

While Dev and Roy would seek re-election from Ghatal and Birbhum seats respectively, Sen has been shifted from to Asansol, which was won by singer-turned-politician of the BJP.

The TMC has dropped sitting MPs and Sandhya Roy, well-known film stars of yesteryears.

Pal had been arrested by the CBI in December 2016 in connection with the chitfund scam and is at present out on bail.

Pal and are two-time MPs of the TMC, both having earlier won in the 2009 elections.

The TMC supremo had also made Bollywood star Mithun Chakraborty a But he had resigned in December 2016 citing ill health.

The trend of cine stars joining electoral politics has been a regular affair in the southern states, with former M G Ramachandran as the pioneer and Rajnikanth and being the latest entrants.

is another state where film stars enjoy cult status and have made serious forays into politics, with N T having become of the state.

In other parts of the country, film stars like Raj Babbar, Hema Malini, have been in politics and even mega star had a short tryst with it.

Film stars have, however, generally stayed away from electoral politics in West Bengal, where it has traditionally been viewed as a forte of those who grow from the ranks, barring one or two exceptions.

The so-called glass ceiling was broken in 2009 when and Tapas Pal, both of whom were doing films regularly then, were fielded by the and won.

The BJP has also brought in film personalities and those associated with it in politics.

Babul Supriyo, a who also dabbled in film acting, was one of the two BJP candidates who won in the 2014 Lok Sabha elections from He was also made a

Roopa Ganguly, who achieved national fame for her portrayal of the role of Draupadi in mega teleserial Mahabharat, is a of the BJP.

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Thu, March 14 2019. 10:20 IST