You are here: Home » Elections » News
Business Standard

Karnataka bypoll results: Cong-JD(S) bag 4 out of 5 seats, BJP gets Shimoga

The alliance won parliamentary seats in Ballari and Mandya and assembly seats in Jamkhandi and Ramanagara

Agencies  |  Bengaluru and New Delhi 

H D Kumaraswamy
H D Kumaraswamy

Karnataka’s ruling Janata Dal (Secular) and coalition won two assembly seats and two Lok Sabha seats in by-results Tuesday, cheering the Opposition ahead of Diwali as it prepares to fight Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) in five state this year and Lok Sabha polls in 2018.

The alliance won parliamentary seats in Ballari and Mandya and assembly seats in Jamkhandi and Ramanagara. The won the Shivamogga Lok Sabha constituency—its only victory in by-held Saturday.

The lost Ballari, a Lok Sabha seat it held since 2004 and which is the stronghold of controversial mining barons, the Reddy brothers. leader V S Ugrappa led by more than 2.14 lakh votes against candidate J Shantha, the sister of B Sriramulu, a key aide of the Reddy brothers and a former MP from Ballari.

The BJP won in Shivamogga parliamentary seat, the pocket borough of party veteran and Leader of the Opposition B S Yeddyurappa. His son B Y Raghavendra has established a lead of more than 51,000 votes against JD (S) candidate) Madhu Bangarappa.

In Mandya Lok Sabha constituency, JD(S) candidate L Shivarame Gowda led by 3.24 lakh votes over BJP candidate Siddaramaiah.

JD (S) leader Anitha Kumaraswamy, the wife of chief minister H D Kumaraswamy, won the Ramanagara assembly by 1,09,137 votes against her nearest rival, L Chandrashekar, who had pulled out of the contest but was listed as a BJP candidate in the ballot.

The Ramanagara seat fell vacant after Kumaraswamy retained Chennapatna, the second constituency he won in Karnataka assembly in May 2108.

In Jamkhandi assembly seat, candidate Anand Nyamgouda defeated BJP's Srikant Kulkarni by a margin of 39,480 votes.

With Tuesday's results, the Congress-JD(S) alliance's tally will have 120 seats in the-224-member assembly. The BJP has 104 MLAs, reported agency PTI.

Karnataka is the only south state where the BJP has been in power. After state elections earlier this year, the party formed a minority government but lost a trust vote in the assembly. The by-results will bolster the JD (S) and Congress government, which has been plagued by in-fighting

"The 4-1 win in the Karnataka bye-elections is similar to the Test series of Indian cricket team led by Virat Kohli. Lesson to be learnt: Alliance has turned out to be beneficial," said Congress leader P Chidambaram in a tweet.

“Look at the margins--it's clear that people are fed up with the BJP. This anti-people, anti-farmer, anti-women government at the Centre must go,” Karnataka Congress president Dinesh Gundu Rao was quoted by PTI as saying.

Five states--Chhattisgarh, Madhya Pradesh, Mizoram, Rajasthan and Telangana—will hold elections between November 12 and December 7 this year.

(With inputs from PTI)

First Published: Tue, November 06 2018. 16:07 IST