Business Standard

10% voting recorded in Uttar Pradesh (10 a.m.)


IANS Lucknow
Uttar Pradesh recorded around 10.36 per cent voting in the first three hours of polling for the 13 Lok Sabha seats on Monday till 10 a.m., officials said.
Shahjahanpur recorded 11.14 per cent voter turnout, Farukhabad 11.42 per cent, Jalaun 10.07 per cent, Jhansi 10.77 per cent, Hamirpur 10.38, Unnao 10.41 per cent, Hardoi 9.51 per cent, Misrikh 8.16 per cent, Etawah 7.89 per cent, Kannauj 8.46 per cent, Kanpur 9.11 per cent, Akbarpur 8.91 per cent and Kanpur 11.24 per cent.
Technical glitches in electronic voting machines (EVMs) reportedly delayed the balloting process in four polling booths in Kannauj's Chhibramau area. EVM malfunctioning stopped voting in Hamirpur.
A total of 2.38 crore people are eligible to exercise their franchise at 27,513 polling booths.
In 2014, the Bharatiya Janata Party won 12 seats barring Kannauj, which was won by Samajwadi Party chief Akhilesh Yadav's wife Dimple Yadav.
This time, the BJP has dropped its sitting MPs from Shahjahanpur, Hardoi, Misrikh and Etawah.
The SP-BSP alliance has fielded six BSP candidates and seven SP candidates. The Congress has fielded candidates from all constituencies barring Kannauj.
Prominent candidates in the race in the fourth phase of the general elections in the state are Dimple Yadav, former union Ministers and Congress leaders Salman Khurshid, who is contesting from Farukhabad, and Sriprakash Jaiswal from Kanpur.
Uttar Pradesh cabinet Minister Satyadev Pachauri is also contesting from Kanpur after the party dropped sitting MP and veteran BJP leader Murli Manohar Joshi. Sakshi Maharaj of the BJP is pitted against Congress' Annu Tandon from Unnao.

Disclaimer: No Business Standard Journalist was involved in creation of this content

Don't miss the most important news and views of the day. Get them on our Telegram channel

First Published: Apr 29 2019 | 11:46 AM IST

Explore News