You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

Polling begins on slow pace in UP

Press Trust of India  |  Lucknow 

An estimated 9.59 per cent voters exercised their franchise in the first two hours of polling in 13 constituencies of in the fourth phase of elections Monday.

Seats where polling is underway are Shahjahanpur (SC), Kheri, Hardoi (SC), Misrikh (SC), Unnao, Farrukhabad, (SC), Kannauj, Kanpur, Akbarpur, Jalaun (SC), and Hamirpur.

Polling in this phase is specially important for the ruling BJP as it is aiming for a clean sweep by winning all 13 seats, including which was the only seat the had managed to win in 2014.

was won by Samajwadi Party's Dimple Yadav.

On four of these seats - Shahjahanpur, Hardoi, Mishrikh and Etawah- the BJP opted for new faces while former Union ministers (Kanpur) and (Jhansi) are also not in the fray this time.

The SP-BSP alliance has fielded six BSP candidates and seven SP candidates. While the BSP is contesting from Shahjahanpur (SC), Misrikh (SC), Farrukhabad, Akbarpur, Jalaun (SC) and Hamirpur.

The SP has fielded candidates from Kheri, Hardoi (SC), Unnao, Etawah, Kannauj, and

The has fielded candidates from 12 parliamentary constituencies, and it is not in the fray from

Some of the prominent candidates whose electoral fate will be decided in this phase are Dimple Yadav, former Union ministers and (Kanpur) of Congress, (from Kanpur), Sakshi Maharaj of BJP (from Unnao) and Annu Tandon of (from Unnao).

In Etawah, sitting was dropped by the BJP and he was given ticket by the

The BJP has fielded Ram Shankar Katheria, who was the sitting from (SC). Katheria is also the of the

These 13 seats also include three seats of Bundelkhannd -- Jalaun (SC), and Hamipur -- while the fourth Banda will go to polls in the fifth phase on May 6.

As many as 2,41,07,084 voters are eligible to exercise their voting rights at 27,516 polling booths located in 17,011 polling centres.

Almost all parties made all out efforts to win over voters with electioneering reaching a feverish pitch on the last day of campaigning on Saturday when addressed two back-to-back rallies in Kannauj and Hardoi.

Congress' Priyanka Gandhi Vadra, Samajwadi Party's Akhilesh Yadav and UP CM Yogi Adityanath also held road shows and election meetings on the last day.

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Mon, April 29 2019. 10:10 IST