You are here: Home » News-IANS » Education
Business Standard

ABVP sweeps DUSU polls

IANS  |  New Delhi 

The Akhil Bharatiya Vidyarthi Parishad (ABVP) on Saturday swept the University Students Union (DUSU) elections winning all the four posts with spectacular margins.

The candidates of the ABVP, the students wing of the Rashtriya Swayamsewak Sangh (RSS), won the posts of president, vice president, secretary and joint secretary. The ABVP had won all the four posts last year too.

Satinder Awana, an M.A. Buddhist Studies student, won the president's post by 6,327 votes. Awana got 20,439 votes defeating Pradeep Vijayran of NSUI who polled 14,112 votes.

After winning, Awana told IANS: "I won by over 6,300 votes and the credit of my win goes to the DU students. Students trusted us and we will fulfil our promises. We will work for students safety, women security, new colleges."

The vice president's post was won by Sunny Dedha, a law student, by 7,570 votes. He defeated Garima Rana of AAP's students wing, Chhatra Yuva Sangharsh Samiti (CYSS).

"It's a big defeat for CYSS. It proves that a fight can be won on issues not posters," Dedha told IANS.

Anjali Rana from Lakshmibai College, who won the secretary's post by 4,610 votes, told IANS: "Girls' safety would be my first priority. I thank students for my win."

Chhattarpal Yadav, an M.A. Buddhist Studies student, won the joint secretary's post by 6,065 votes. "We do politics of truth. CYSS gave false promises and students knew about it," Yadav told IANS.

The elections on Friday witnessed a 43.3 percent turnout, a slight dip from last year's 44 percent.

National Students' Union of India (NSUI), the student wing of the Congress, trailed on the second spot in three posts.

The CYSS presidential candidate came on the fourth place and its vice presidential candidate was on second place.

Reacting to the CYSS defeat, its vice president, Anmol Panwar, said that for a debutant, the party did well.

"It was the first time and we did well. The result shows we have to work harder and it should not be seen as Arvind Kejriwal's defeat," Tanwar told IANS.

"The DUSU election which witnessed 43.3 percent polling, a slight dip from last year's 44 percent voting, held peacefully," said chief election officer D.S. Rawat.

"This time election was bit aggressive. Voting percentage also gone down this year but overall entire DUSU poll went peacefully. I request all political parties to stay away from election," said Rawat.

On the many complaints made against candidates for openly flouting the rules, Rawat told IANS: "We are considering all complaints regarding violation of rules. We will take appropriate action after proper investigation."

After the results were announced, the winning candidates were showered with flowers and garlands. Bursting of crackers, distribution of sweets and loud cheering was witnessed at the Kingsway Camp counting venue.

The supporters danced to drum beats and took out a march to celebrate the victory amid tight security by Police. The wining candidates marched towards the famous Swami Vivekananda statue and thanked the students for giving them a clear mandate.

The key issues raised by the ABVP were -- pressurise the government to implement the room rent control act, bring in the paying guest regulation act, secure atmosphere for northeast students, hostel accommodation especially for women students, U-special buses, 40 percent concession on metro card for students, printed marksheets for all students, supplementary exam for third-year students in case of mass failure.

A total of 35 candidates were in the fray.

First Published: Sat, September 12 2015. 15:34 IST