You are here: Home » News-IANS » Politics
Business Standard

Congress names 218 candidates for Karnataka assembly poll

IANS  |  New Delhi/Bengaluru 

Karnataka's ruling on Sunday declared 218 candidates for the May 12 assembly elections, withholding names for remaining six seats of the 224-member house.

According to Mukul Wasnik, who released the list in the national capital, the candidates were selected by the party's from the names its screening committee recommended after a two-day meeting in on April 9-10.

Siddaramaiah, 69, will contest from Chamundeshwari in Mysuru, where he had contested seven times since 1983 and won five times.

Though he was re-elected from the adjacent Varuna seat in district in the May 2013 assembly polls, the party high command has agreed to field his son from his home constituency this time.

Contrary to media reports, will not contest from any other constituency, especially Badami in district as speculated, with the party fielding Devraj Patil from it.

Party's state unit will contest from Korategere in district from where he lost in the last assembly poll. State Working will fight from Gandhinagar in

Among the other prominent candidates are Ministers K.C. George, Roshan Baig, and from the seats they represent in the outgoing assembly.

will contest from C.V in the city and former from Rajajinagar suburb.

The party has given tickets to 15 women candidates, including Women and from Tardal, Lakshmi Ravindra Hebbalkar from Belgaum Rural, from Khanapur, Soumya R. from Jayanagar and Sushma Rajgopal Reddy from Bommanahalli.

Other women nominees are Kirtana from Belur, Shakunthala T. Shetty from Puttur, M.from Gundlupet,, K. Fatima from Gulbarga North, Motamma from Mudigere, Vani Krishnareddy from Chintamani, Roopa Sasidhar from Kolar Gold Field, Sharada from Kumta and A.L. Pushpa from Jagalur.

The party is yet to name candidates for Shantinagar segment in Bengaluru Central, Kittar, Nagthan, Sindgi, Raichur and Melukote.

The returned to power after a decade in 2013, winning 122 seats and breaking a 40-year-old record to complete the five-year term as

The opposition BJP released its first list of 72 candidates on April 8, while Janata Dal-Secular (JD-S) named 126 nominees on March 27.

Vote count is on May 15.



(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Mon, April 16 2018. 00:04 IST