You are here: Home » News-IANS » Politics
Business Standard

LS polls: BJP to defend 45 seats in phase six

IANS  |  New Delhi 

The penultimate phase of elections on Sunday will see 59 parliamentary constituencies spread over seven states going to the polls with the BJP having maximum at stake as it has to defend 45 seats it won in 2014.

Over 10.17 crore voters will decide the fate of 979 candidates in the sixth phase of elections. The has set up 1.13 lakh polling stations for the smooth conduct of elections.

Voting will take place for 14 seats in Uttar Pradesh, all 10 in Haryana, eight each in West Bengal, and Madhya Pradesh, four in and all the seven seats in

The key constituencies outside include Morena, and in Madhya Pradesh, Sultanpur, Allahbad and Azamgarh in Uttar Pradesh, East Champaran in and Hisar, Sonipat and Rohtak in Hayrana.

In 2014, the BJP had won seven of the eight seats in Bihar, eight of 10 in Haryana, all four in Jharkhand, seven of eight in and 12 of 14 in It had won all the seven seats in

BJP's allies (LJP) and Apna Dal had won one seat each. The had won two seats while the and the (INLD) had won one seat apiece.

The Trinamool had won all the eight seats going to the polls in the sixth phase in



(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Sat, May 11 2019. 17:40 IST