You are here: Home » News-IANS » Politics
Business Standard

Shock defeat for BJP in UP, Bihar by-polls (Roundup)

IANS  |  Lucknow/Patna 

In results that can set the tone for the 2019 general elections, the BJP on Wednesday received a severe drubbing in the and assembly by-and losing four of the five seats, including the prestigeous and parliamentary constituencies, after non-BJP parties teamed up in alliances against the saffron party in the two states.

The BJP also lost the constituency and the Jehanabad assembly seat while scoring a consolation win in Bhabhua assembly seat in The results in both the states triggered calls for a - a la - all across to take on the BJP in the next polls.

After sweeping the Lok Sabha elections in 2014 and the assembly elections last year, the (BJP) faced formidable rivals in the form of and BSP who stitched a last minute alliance in the by-polls. (BSP) supremo Mayawati had announced the backing of her party for candidates in both the constituencies in return for a support to her party candidate in the Rajya Sabha biennial elections.

The BJP lost seat to the by a margin of 21,961 votes. SP candidate got 4,56,437 votes over his nearest BJP rival who secured 4,34,476 votes. candidate polled 18,844 votes.

Yogi Adityanath, who had represented seat in the Lok Sabha for five times, winning the last elections in 2014 with a margin of 3.13 lakh votes, resigned from the seat after he was became the of Before him, his mentor was from the seat for two terms, in 1991 and 1993.

In the constituency, which was once represented by Pandit Jawaharlal Nehru, SP candidate defeated BJP candidate by a margin of 59,613 votes.

The winner polled 3,42,796 votes while BJP candidate got 2,83,183 votes. Former mafia don-turned secured 48,087 votes while the Congress's polled 19,334 votes.

The SP has been the runner-up on Gorakhpur seat many times before, while it had won the seat four times since 1996. BJP won Phulphur Lok Sabha seat for the first time in 2014 when (now) Deputy CM won by a margin of over three lakh votes.

In 2014, BJP and its ally Apna Dal had won 73 of 80 Lok Sabha seats and 325 out of 403 seats in the 2017 Assembly elections.

In the neighbouring Bihar, the opposition dealty a stunning blow to the saffron party and its ally JD-U headed by when it bagged the Lok Sabha seat.

The RJD's defeated the BJP candidate by over 60,000 votes in

In Jehanabad assembly constituency, Suday Yadav of defeated Janata Dal-United candidate by 35,036 votes while BJP's Rinki Pandey worsted Sambhu Patel of the Congress, a ally, by 15,000 votes in Bhabua assembly constituency.

It was a direct fight between the BJP-led and the of the RJD-in Bihar, a year ahead of the next Lok Sabha battle.

With the original having come apart as the JD-U deserted it and joining hands with the BJP, there was a lot at stake for everyone in the by-elections: the RJD, JD-U, BJP and

and celebrated across and Bihar by distributing sweets and bursting firecrackers.

At the premises, RJD legislators played Holi, splashing each other with colour powder.

Elsewhere, RJD workers beat drums and raised slogans hailing Lalu Prasad, who has been jailed for corruption, and his son Tejashwi Yadav, who asked opposition leaders to join hands at the national level to take on the BJP in the 2019 Lok Sabha battle.

The balloting in Jehanabad and Bhabua followed the death of RJD and BJP legislators respectively. The Araria Lok Sabha seat became vacant after the death last year of Mohammad Taslimuddin, the

The RJD fielded -- son of Taslimuddin and a of the ruling JD-U. Last month, he left the JD-U and quit the Assembly to join the RJD.

He is a former from Jokihat in Araria district.



(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Wed, March 14 2018. 21:02 IST