You are here: Home » News-IANS » Politics
Business Standard

Vote count begins in 5 Karnataka bypolls

IANS  |  Bengaluru 

Counting of votes began on Tuesday in five bye-elections held on November 3 to fill the vacancies caused in three and two assembly segments in Karnataka, a poll said.

"Counting of votes began at 8.00 a.m. in Bellary (ST), Mandya and Shimoga seats and Jamakhandi and Ramanagara assembly seats," an told IANS here.

According to Chief Electoral Officer Sanjeev Kumar, a total of 1,248 officials, including supervisors, staff and micro observers were deployed at the counting centres.

Vote count was underway at engineering and government colleges taken up as counting centres.

Around 66 per cent of the 54.5 lakh electorate voted in the five by-elections.

A record 77.17 per cent polling was registered in Jamakhandi, followed by 71.88 per cent in Ramanagara, 63.85 per cent in Bellary (reserved), 61.05 per cent in Shimoga and 53.93 per cent in Mandya.

In all, 31 candidates were in the fray, including five from the Bharatiya Janata Party, three from Janata Dal-Secular (JD-S) and two from Congress, while the remaining are Independents.

Prior to the bypolls, the JD-S held Ramanagara and Mandya seats, while the Jamakhandi and the BJP Bellary and Shimoga.

Prominent among the candidates in the fray were Anitha, wife of from JD-S, B. Shantha sister of BJP from Bellary (reserved), and B.Y. Raghavendra, son of BJP's state unit from Shimoga.

"As number of votes for counting is less in the twin assembly seats, trends and results is expected earlier than in the three seats, whose results are expected by late afternoon," the poll added.



(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Tue, November 06 2018. 08:52 IST