You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

Bengal despatches 7 senior police officers to Darjeeling

Press Trust of India  |  Kolkata 

The today rushed seven senior police officers to Darjeeling to help restore the and order in the hills facing unrest after revival of GJM's demand for a separate state of Gorkhaland.

"The state wants a quick improvement in the situation in the hills. With that end in views, the senior officers have been directed to go there," a senior officer at the secretariat said.

DC Traffic Siliguri Metropolitan Police (SMP) S Yadav, ADCP Traffic Bidhannagar Police Commissionerate A Kadian, Additional SP Kharagpur (Paschim Medinipore) Y Raghuvamshi, ACP Police Bhavana Gupta, Lalbagh SDPO (Murshidabad) Azahar Tauseef, AC State Armed Police (11th Battalian) Rahul Pandey and Deputy SP (SSF Battalion) Avishek Ghosh are the seven officers deputed to the restive Darjeeling hills.

It must be mentioned here that the state had yesterday transfered Darjeeling deputy superintendent of police.

Incidentally, the state removed Darjeeling Superintendent of Police Amit Javalgi after the incident on June 8, when GJM supporters clashed with the police while trying to break barricades near the Raj Bhawan, where Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee was holding a cabinet meeting.

GJM supporters had damaged police vehicles and set some of them ablaze.

Kolkata Police Deputy Commissioner, Central, Akhilesh Chaturvedi was made the new SP of Darjeeling.

The state government had earlier replaced Gorkhaland Territorial Administration principal secretary Ravi Inder Singh and brought in Barun Ray and appointed C Murugan as the new secretary of GTA in place of Donbosco Lepcha.

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Fri, June 16 2017. 21:48 IST