You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

Congress announces names of 9 more LS poll candidates for UP

Press Trust of India  |  Lucknow 

The Saturday announced names of nine more candidates for Uttar Pradesh, which included R K Chaudhary, Singh and Ramakant Yadav, all of whom joined the party recently.

R K came into the fold earlier this month and has been fielded from Mohanlalganj replacing whose name was announced earlier.

was a in the and had contested the 2014 poll on BSP ticket from Mohanlalganj. He was defeated by the BJP's Kaushal Kishore by nearly 1.45 lakh votes.

The has also fielded Singh from Basti and from Bhadohi seats. Both had joined the party on Friday.

While was in the Akhilesh Yadav government, is a former

The Congress has also fielded former from Salempur and Ummed Singh Nishad from Ambedkarnagar.

Anupriya Patel's mother Krishna Patel, who leads a faction of the Apna Dal, will contest the Gonda seat. The Congress on March 16 had finalised the seat-sharing agreement with the Apna Dal led by and allocated it Basti and Gonda seats.

The Congress' other ally the Jan Adhikar Party was allocated Chandauli and Ghazipur parliamentary constituencies which would be contested by and respectively.

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Sat, April 13 2019. 23:25 IST