You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

First phase polling ends in Maharashtra, Chhattisgarh

Press Trust of India  |  Mumbai 

Polling for seven seats in and the Naxal-affected constituency in neighbouring came to an end at 5 pm Thursday.

As much as 46.13 per cent turn-out had been registered in seven seats in Maharashtra's Vidarbha by 3 pm, as per the state election officials.

The prominent candidates in these constituencies include Union ministers and senior BJP leaders Nitin Gadkari, who is contesting from Nagpur, and Hansraj Ahir, who is the nominee from Chandrapur seat.

More than 45 per cent voters exercised their franchise in by 3 pm.

Early in the morning, Naxals detonated an IED (improvised explosive device) in district, which comes under constituency. There were no casualties.

Naxals also triggered an IED blast near a polling booth in Maharashtra's Gadchroli district Thursday while voting was underway. There were no casualties, a police official said.

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Thu, April 11 2019. 17:30 IST