You are here: Home » Current Affairs » News » National
Business Standard

Article 370: Jammu and Kashmir to be largest UT, followed by Ladakh

The government on Monday revoked Article 370 which gave special status to Jammu and Kashmir

Press Trust of India  |  New Delhi 

soldiers, army, security
Security personnel stand guard during restrictions, in Jammu, Monday, Aug 05, 2019 | PTI Photo

will be the largest union territory (UT) in the country in terms of area once it is carved out, following the Centre's move to bifurcate the state.

Ladakh, will be the second largest UT after it comes to force.

The government on Monday revoked which gave special status to and proposed that the state be bifurcated into two separate union territories of Jammu and Kashmir, and

This provoked outrage from the Conference and the PDP and triumph from leaders of India's ruling BJP.

There has been a long pending demand from a section of people of to turn it into a union territory.

With the addition of two new UTs, its total number will go up to nine -- J&K, Ladakh, Delhi, Puducherry, Diu and Daman, Dadra and Nagar Haveli, Chandigarh, Lakshadweep and Andaman and Nicobar Islands.

Currently, only two UTs -- Delhi and Puducherry -- have Legislative Assemblies. With the addition of Jammu and Kashmir, the number will go up to three. UTs with legislative assemblies have Lt Governors.

The number of MPs from UTs may vary but all have representation in Parliament. For instance, Delhi sends seven MPs, the largest among union territories.

First Published: Mon, August 05 2019. 19:01 IST