You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

Marathwada agriculture university to be renamed after Naik

Press Trust of India  |  Mumbai 

government has decided to rename the Agricultural University in Parbhani after the late state chief minister Vasantrao Naik.

A decision to this effect was taken at a meeting of the state cabinet here today. The move comes during the birth centenary of Naik.

The chief minister had announced in November 2012 that Naik, a Banjara tribe leader from Yavatmal district, would be honoured on his birth centenary and the Agriculture University would be named after him.

Naik had played a vital role in setting up four universities in Maharashtra, of which three had already been named after three different leaders.

The Rahuri Agriculture University has been named after Mahatma Phule, the Agriculture University in Akola after Dr Panjabrao Deshmukh and the Agricultural University at Dapoli in Ratnagiri after Balasaheb Sawant.

Similarly, there was a demand to rename the Parbhani based agricultural university after Naik.

First Published: Wed, June 19 2013. 19:40 IST