You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

Rajanikant Singh elected unopposed as Deputy Speaker of Odisha

Press Trust of India  |  Bhubaneswar 

Four-time Biju Janata Dal MLA Rajanikant Singh was Thursday unanimously elected as the Deputy Speaker of Odisha Assembly.

Leader of the House and Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik proposed the name of the Angul MLA for the post of the deputy speaker, which was seconded by Parliamentary Affairs Minister B K Aarukh.

Speaker S N Patro formally declared Singh elected unopposed, as the opposition BJP and the Congress had not fielded their candidates.

I will work impartially and follow the rules of procedure of the state Assembly, Parliament and Constitution, Singh said, after being named as the deputy speaker.

He was congratulated by the Leader of Opposition Pradipta Naik, Congress legislature party leader Narasingha Mishra and CPI(M) member Laxman Munda.

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Thu, June 27 2019. 14:55 IST