You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

Sr Natl Badminton C'ship: Lakshya, Harsheel enter fourth round

Press Trust of India  |  Guwahati 

Young Indian shuttlers Sen and continued their fine run to enter the fourth round of the men's singles competition with straight-game victories at the 83rd Yonex National Championship here Wednesday.

Lakshya, who won a Asian Junior Championship and bronze at World Junior Championship last year, notched up a 21-14 21-13 win over Vipul Saini.

Harsheel, who had clinched the Ghana International in 2018, dished out a compact performance to outclass seventh seed Balraj Kajla 21-14 21-15 in another match.

The 17-year-old from Uttarakhand, seeded 14th, will take on and lad Harsheel faces.

Former champions Sourabh Varma and Rituparna Das also entered the fourth round after notching up contrasting wins on Wednesday.

While Sourabh staved off a fight from eighth seed Jagadeesh K 18-21 21-11 21-15 and will meet Munawer Mohammed next, while Rituparna beat Saloni Kumari 21-14 21-15 to set up a clash with Namita Pathania.

Also making into the 4th round are Arintap Dasgupta, C, Jaswanth D, Nikhilshyam Sriram, Alap Mishra, Priyanshu Rajawat, Aryamann Tandon, Mithun M, Kaushal Dharmamer, Munawer Mohammed, C and Pratul Joshi in men's singles.

In women's singles, Gayatri Gopichand, Riya Mookerjee, Malvika Bansod, Shikha Gautam, Vaidehi Choudhari, Aadya Variyath, Namita Pathania, Reshma Karthik, Vaishnavi Bhale, Neha Pandit, Bhavya Rishi, Shruti Mundada, Vrushali G, Deepali Gupta and Deepshikha Singh progressed to the next round.

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Wed, February 13 2019. 15:51 IST