You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

United Left wins all four central panel posts in JNU Students' Union polls

Press Trust of India  |  New Delhi 

A united front of four Left student groups Sunday won all four central panel posts in University (JNUSU) election, by defeating the RSS-affiliated ABVP with huge margins.

The Left-backed All Students' Association (AISA), Students' Federation of (SFI), (DSF) and All Students' Federation (AISF) came together to form the 'United Left' alliance.

According to the university election committee, the Left grouping's presidential candidate, N Sai Balaji of the AISA, defeated Lalit Pandey of the ABVP by a margin of 1,179 votes. Balaji bagged 2,161 votes.

For the post of vice president, of the DSF garnered 2,692 votes and trounced ABVP candidate by a margin of 1,680 votes.

Aejaj Ahmed of the SFI polled 2,423 votes and won the post of general secretary, by defeating Ganesh Gurjar of the ABVP by 1,300 votes.

Amutha of the AISF defeated ABVP's Venkat Choubey by 800 votes to win the post of Amutha bagged 2,047 votes.

Balaji is a student of Chaudhary, Ahmed and Amutha belong to the

Besides the Left bloc and the (ABVP), which is the student wing of the (RSS), there were candidates of the Congress-affiliated NSUI (National of India) and the BAPSA (Birsa Ambedkar Phule Students Association), a student group advocating Dalit causes.

The voter turnout in the keenly contested JNUSU election on Friday was 67.8 per cent, believed to be the highest in six years. Over 5,000 students cast their votes.

There was high drama on Saturday as counting was suspended for close to 14 hours after the ABVP staged protests claiming it was not informed about the start of the counting process.

The counting, which was suspended at 4 am, resumed at 6.30 pm after two teachers from the Grievance Redressal Cell were appointed as observers for the exercise, officials said.

There have also been allegations of a "biased" election committee and violence during the election process.

Last year too, the Left student groups had won all four central panel posts.

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Sun, September 16 2018. 16:50 IST