YSRCP MPs resign from LS, begin indefinite hunger strike


Press Trust of India New Delhi
Five YSR Congress Party members in the Lok Sabha today submitted their resignation letters to Speaker Sumitra Mahajan over the "failure" of the Centre to grant Special Category Status to Andhra Pradesh and later began an 'indefinite hunger strike" here in protest.
The five MPs are Vara Prasad Rao V, Y V Subba Reddy, P V Midhun Reddy, Y S Avinash Reddy and the party floor leader Mekapati Rajamohan Reddy.
The parliamentarians told reporters that they met the Speaker in her chamber and submitted their letters.
They also began an "indefinite hunger strike" at the Andhra Pradesh Bhavan on Ashoka Road here to step up their fight for special status for the state.
Several party MLAs and cadres from the state also joined the protest.
"We do as we say! YSRCP MPs are submitting their resignations today! Challenge N Chandrababu Naidu to make TDP MPs resign and stand united with the people of AP in their rightful demand of special category status for AP," YSRCP leader Jagan Mohan Reddy said in a tweet.
The MPs had said in a press conference Thursday that they would resigning to protest the "failure" of the NDA government to grant special category status to the state.
They had said they were also upset as their notice for a no-confidence motion against the central government on the issue could not be taken up for discussion in the House due to continuous disruption.
Jagan Mohan Reddy had announced in February that the party's five MPs would resign if its demand for special status to Andhra Pradesh was not fulfilled by the Centre.

Disclaimer: No Business Standard Journalist was involved in creation of this content

Don't miss the most important news and views of the day. Get them on our Telegram channel

First Published: Apr 06 2018 | 8:30 PM IST

Explore News