Business Standard

IPL 2019 highlights: Warner hands SRH 45-run win against KXIP in last match

David Warner hit quickfire 81 in his last match of IPL 2019, helping SRH put a mammoth 213 run target. K L Rahul scored 79 but he did not get a good company for the chase.

David Warner

David Warner (Photo: IPL twitter)

In match 48 of the VIVO Indian Premier League 2019 (IPL 2019), Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) defeated Kings XI Punjab (KXIP) at the Rajiv Gandhi International Cricket Stadium in Hyderabad on Monday. Kane Williamson-led SRH are now on the fourth spot in IPL 2019 Points Table with 12 points while R Ashwin's KXIP remains at sixth.

Check 2019 IPL Points table here
IPL 2019: Match 48, SRH vs KXIP full scorecard

David Warner signed off his IPL 2019 campaign in style, notching up his eight fifty of the season to help Sunrisers Hyderabad take a step closer towards qualifying for the play-offs with a comfortable 45-run win over Kings XI Punjab here Monday.

Playing his last match of season before heading home for World Cup preparations, Warner struck a belligerent 81 off 56 balls with seven fours and two sixes to complete his IPL 2019 campaign with 692 runs, the highest so far in the tournament.

Chasing the imposing total, K L Rahul (79 off 56, 4x4s, 5x6s) made a valiant effort with the bat but lacked support from the other end as Kings XI were restricted to 167 for eight.

By virtue of this win, Sunrisers have consolidated their fourth position in the table with 12 points from 12 games, while Kings XI are at 10 points from as many matches.

Both the teams have two more matches to go with Kings XI still in the hunt.

Kings XI needed a brisk start but they didn't get one, losing explosive Chris Gayle early.

Gayle departed in the first ball of the third over, brilliantly caught by Manish Pandey off Khaleel Ahmed (3/40) with Kings XI scoreboard reading 11.

Thereafter, Rahul and Mayank Agarwal (27 off 18) added 60 off 39 balls to take Kings XI forward.

But just when the partnership was looking threatening, Agarwal was holed by Vijay Shankar off Rashid Khan (3/21) in the ninth over.

New man in Nicholas Pooran (21 off 10) played a short breezy knock before Bhuvneshwar Kumar took a beautiful catch at long-leg boundary off Ahmed to sent packing the batsman.

Rashid then came to the party and picked up two wickets -- David Miller (11 off 11) and skipper Ravichandran Ashwin -- in consecutive balls in the 13th over to stand in chance of registering a hat-trick which didn't materialise.

From there on, the asking was tall for Rahul and debutant Prabhsimran Singh (16) and the former finally perished in the 19th over after a beautiful knock to shut the doors for Kings XI.

Earlier, Warner and Wriddhiman Saha (28 off 13) got Sunrisers off to a brisk start after being sent into bat. The duo took the Kings XI bowlers to the cleaners to pile up 77 runs of the first six overs of powerplay.

Warner made his intentions clear from the onset, hitting young Arshdeep Singh for two boundaries in the opening over and then followed it up with a six over long-off in Mujeeb Ur Rahman's next over.

Mujeeb was in for some treatment as Warner hit two more boundaries in the spinner's next over and then Saha also found the fence to bring up Sunrisers' fifty in the fourth over.

Saha then went after Mohammed Shami (2/36) and hit the pacer for a boundary and six off consecutive balls.

Saha's innings came to an end when he under-edged a Murugan Ashwin delivery to debutant Prabhsimran Singh behind the stumps. Saha shared 78 runs off 6.2 overs with Warner for the opening stand.

Warner continued in the same vein and notched up his eight fifty of the season with a boundary off Shami in the 12th over.

Then came in in-form Manish Pandey (36 off 25) and he too played a quick knock in Warner's company.

Pandey, who struck three fours and a six, added 82 off 55 balls along with Warner before Kings XI skipper Ravichandran Ashwin (2/20) struck twin blows in the 16th over to remove both the set batsmen.

First Ashwin accounted for Pandey and then two balls later dismissed Warner, caught by Mujeeb at point of what was a tired-looking shot.

Then skipper Kane Williamson (14 off 7) and Mohammad Nabi (20 off 10) also played short cameos towards the end.

12:15 AM

12:15 AM

No surprises here!! Warner gets the Man of the Match award!!

12:04 AM

11:52 PM

11:46 PM

Over 20 SRH WIN BY 45 RUNS

Over Summary: W 0 0 W 1 1
KXIP 167/8

Prabhsimran on strike, LBW OUT!! Sandeep gets the wicket on the first ball !! Mujeeb is the new batsman, two dot ball, OUT!! Mujeeb is bowled on a knuckle ball !! Shami is the new batsman, takes one, one off the last ball by M Ashwin!! It's all over, SRH WIN BY 45 RUNS1!!
11:39 PM

Over 19

Over Summary: 2 W 0 0 4 1
KXIP 165/6

Rahul on strike, Khaleel with the ball, two off the first, OUT!! Rahul hits the ball for a six but the ball lands in Williamson's hands!! FOUR!! Prabhsimran gets  aboundary off the outside edge to third man, 
11:31 PM

Over 18

Over Summary: 2 0 1 1wd 2 0 6 
KXIP 157/5

Bhuvneshwar to Rahul, two runs as Rashid saves a boundary, single a ball after Six off the last ball. 
11:26 PM

Over 17

Over Summary: 0 1 6 1 1 1
KXIP 145/5

Sandeep Sharma with the ball, single off second by Prabhsimran, SIX!! Rahul places it singe-handedly out of the boundary rope, three singles follow.
11:21 PM

Over 16

Over Summary: 6 2 0 0 4 0
KXIP 135/5

Rahul starts the over with a six!! takes two off Bhuvneshwar's second ball, two dot balls follow and Rahul gets a boundary he was looking for, 
11:15 PM

Over 15

Over Summary: 1 0 1 0 1 0

KXIP 123/5

11:12 PM

Over 14

Over Summary: 6 6 1 0 0 0
KXIP 120/5

Back to back sixes by Rahul on Nabi's first two balls, single and Prabhsimran fails to score runs off the three balss he face
11:08 PM

Over 13 Miller Departs

Over Summary: 4 0 2 0 W W
KXIP 107/5

11:03 PM

Over 12

Over Summary: 1 2 0 0 1 1
KXIP 101/3

10:59 PM

Over 11

Over Summary: 6 4 0 4 W 1
KXIP 96/3

Khaleel with the ball, SIX!! Pooran goes big and tops it up with a boundary!! FOUR!! Pooran is on fire!! CAUGHT!! Pooran is out!! Bhuvneshwar takes a spectacular catch!! Miller is the new batsman 

10:52 PM

Over 10

Over Summary: 0 2 1 0 6 1
KXIP 81/2

Mohammad Nabi is brought in for the over, Rahul picks two off first and then takes  asingle, Pooran on strike, SIX!! straight doe the ground!! 
Topics :

Don't miss the most important news and views of the day. Get them on our Telegram channel

First Published: Apr 29 2019 | 5:30 PM IST

Explore News