You are here: Home » Current Affairs » News » Sports
Business Standard

IPL Auction 2018: Here's the complete list of cricketers sold and unsold

Indian players like Yuvraj Singh and Harbhajan Singh were picked up at base price

Urvi Malvania  |  Mumbai 

IPL players

As the first session of the Vivo Indian Premier League 2018 player auction drew to a close, Ben Stokes held on to his title as the costliest player for the second year running. Sold to Rajasthan Royals for Rs 125 million, Stokes was aggressively bid by multiple teams. Last year, he was picked up by Rising Pune Supergiant (no longer in the IPL) for Rs 145 million). Teams seemed to favour all-rounders as four of the top eights buys came in the category. cost Delhi Daredevils Rs 90 million while CSK forked out Rs 78 million for Kedar Jadhav and Kings XI Punjab shelled out Rs 76 million for While Stokes was the costliest player of the inaugural session, KL Rahul and Manish Pandey followed close in second place, both attracting bids worth Rs 110 million each. Rahul will play for the KXIP while Pandey will don the colours of Surisers Hyderabad. Kolkata Knight Riders picked up only two players in the first session, but bid aggressively in both cases.

The Shah Rukh Khan and Juhi Chawla owned team picked up Chris Lynn for Rs 96 million along with Mitchell Starc for Rs 94 million. There were some surprises in terms of the players that went unsold. West Indies heavyweight Chris Gayle, South African batsman Hashim Amla, England team captain Joe Root (for whom it was the first time being in the auction), New Zealander Martin Guptill, Australian all-rounder James Faulkner and India’s Murali Vijay remained unsold in the first session of this year’s auction. Indian wicketkeepers Sanju Samson, Dinesh Karthik, and Wriddhiman Saha had the teams in a bidding war. While Rajasthan Royals and Mumbai Indians were involved in an interesting duel for Sanju Samson, the former prevailed and picked him up for Rs 80 million. Dinesh Karthik found suitors in Chennai Super Kings, Kolkata Knight Riders, Rajasthan Royals and Mumbai Indians but finally went to the Kinght Riders for Rs 74 million. Saha was sold to Rs 50 million to Sunrisers Hyderabad. Robin Uthappa was retained by the Knight Riders for Rs 64 million after they used the right to match card against Rajasthan’s winning bid. Ambati rayadu went to the Chennai Super Kings for Rs 22 million. ALSO READ: IPL Auction 2018: RR pips MI to grab Sanju Samson for Rs 80 million FUNDS TALLY AT END OF FIRST SESSION

Team Funds remaining (Rs million) Players bought
Chennai Super Kings 252 5
Delhi Daredevils 381 4
Kings XI Punjab 259 7
Kolkata Knight Riders 400 2
Mumbai Indians 416 1
Rajasthan Royals 505 3
Royal Challengers Bangalore 341 4
Sunrisers Hyderabad 339 6
Team Player Speciality Winning bid (Rs million)
Rajasthan Royals Benjamin Stokes All-Rounder 125
Sunrisers Hyderabad Manish Pandey Batsman 110
Kings XI Punjab KL Rahul Batsman 110
Kolkata Knight Riders Chris Lynn Batsman 96
Kolkata Knight Riders Mitchell Starc Bowler 94
Delhi Daredevils Glenn Maxwell All-Rounder 90
Chennai Super Kings Kedar Jadhav All-Rounder 78
Kings XI Punjab Ravichandran Ashwin All-Rounder 76
Cricketers Base price Auction price
KL Rahul Batsman Rs 20 mn Rs 110 mn KXIP
Murali Vijay Batsman Rs 20 mn Unsold for now
Brendon McCullum Batsman Rs 20 mn Rs 36 mn RCB
Chris Lynn Batsman Rs 20 mn Rs 96 mn KKR
Aaron Finch Batsman Rs 15 mn Rs 62 mn KXIP
Jason Roy Batsman Rs 15 mn Rs 15 mn DD
Hashim Amla Batsman Rs 15 mn Unsold for now
David Miller Batsman Rs 15 mn Rs 30 mn KXIP retain using RTM against MI
Manish Pandey Batsman Rs 10 mn Rs 110 mn SRH
Martin Guptill Batsman Rs 7.5 mn Unsold for now
Karun Nair Batsman Rs 5 mn Rs 56 mn KXIP
Glenn Maxwell All-Rounder Rs 20 mn Rs 90 mn DD
Benjamin Stokes All-Rounder Rs 20 mn Rs 125 mn RR
Yuvraj Singh All-Rounder Rs 20 mn Rs 20 mn KXIP
Mitchell Starc Bowler Rs 20 mn Rs 94 mn KKR
Ravichandran Ashwin All-Rounder Rs 20 mn Rs 76 mn KXIP
Shikhar Dhawan Batsman Rs 20 mn Rs 52 mn SRH, using RTM against KXIP.
Christopher Gayle Batsman Rs 20 mn Unsold for now
Kieron Pollard All-Rounder Rs 20 mn Rs 54 mn MI retains using RTM against DD
Ajinkya Rahane Batsman Rs 20 mn Rs 40 mn RR retain through RTM against KXIP
Dwayne Bravo All-Rounder Rs 20 mn Rs 64 mn CSK use RTM against KXIP
Gautam Gambhir Batsman Rs 20 mn Rs 28 mn DD
Harbhajan Singh Bowler Rs 20 mn Rs 20 mn CSK
Kane Williamson Batsman Rs 15 mn Rs 30 mn SRH
Faf Du Plessis Batsman Rs 15 mn Rs 16 mn CSK retain using RTM against KXIP
Joe Root Batsman Rs 15 mn Unsold for now
Shakib Al Hasan All-Rounder Rs 10 mn Rs 20 mn SRH

First Published: Sat, January 27 2018. 12:30 IST