Business Standard
What is Legislative Council

Legislative Council

About Legislative Council

What is Legislative Council

India follows a bicameral system at both the centre and state level. Under this system, the state's legislature is divided into two parts - Legislative Assembly or Vidhan Sabha and Legislative Council or Vidhan Parishad. Members of the Legislative Assembly are directly elected by the people through assembly elections. Vidhan Parishad or Legislative Council is a permanent body, which can be formed or abolished when the Legislative Assembly passes a special resolution.
In other words, the Legislative Council is the upper house of the state. Its institution is outlined in Article 169 of the Constitution of India. A member of a legislative council is referred to as an MLC.
Do all states have Legislative Councils?
No. The Constitution of India does not mandate states to form a Legislative Council.
How many legislative councils are there in India?
As of January 2020, six out of 28 states have a legislative council. The states with bicameral legislature include Andhra Pradesh, Bihar, Karnataka, Maharashtra, Telangana and Uttar Pradesh. These states have both the Legislative Council and Legislative Assembly.
What is the difference between the Legislative Assembly and the Legislative Council?
The term of the Legislative Assembly is five years unless it is dissolved earlier on the request of the chief minister. The tenure of the members of the council is six years, and a third of the members of the House retire after every two years.
Legislative Assembly is the lower house, much like the Lok Sabha of the Parliament. Legislative Council is the upper house in the state and like the Rajya Sabha, it is a permanent House.
How is the Legislative Council created?
The members of the Council are either nominated by the Governor of the state or are indirectly elected.
Here's the math: One-third of the members of this House are elected by the Legislative Assembly. One-third are elected by the local bodies like a municipality or other local authorities. One-twelfth of the members are elected by graduates. One-twelfth of the members are elected by teachers. About one-sixth of the members are nominated by the Governor. The legislative Council elects its Chairman, who plays the role of presiding officer and Deputy Chairman from amongst its members.
Eligibility criteria: Indian citizen who is at least 30 years of age; a person cannot simultaneously be a Member of Parliament and State legislature.
What is the role of the Legislative Council?
The Constitution of India gives limited power to the Legislative Council. It cannot make or break a government. It cannot say ‘no’ to Finance Bills. However, there are some perks: The Council has its Chairman and Deputy Chairman who enjoy the status of Cabinet Ministers in the state.
It is considered important for two reasons: a) it can ensure individuals who might not be cut out for the elections are able to contribute to the legislative process (like artists, scientists, etc). b) It can keep an eye on hasty decisions taken by the Legislative Assembly.
Can Legislative Council be dissolved?
While Legislative Council is a permanent House like the Rajya Sabha, it can be dissolved. Under Article 169 of the Indian constitution, Parliament may create or abolish the Council in a state if the Legislative Assembly of that state passes a resolution to that effect by a special majority. Parliament abolished the Vidhan Parishad in Andhra Pradesh in 1985, but in March 2007, it was reinstated.
The Legislative Councils have been criticised for being unnecessary and unrepresentative of the people. They are considered a burden on the state budget and cause delays in passing legislation.

Latest Updates on Legislative Council

Nitish, Rabri among 11 elected unopposed to Bihar Legislative Council

3 min read Last Updated :Mar 14 2024 | 5:56 PM IST
Rabri Devi files nomination for legislative council polls on last day

3 min read Last Updated :Mar 11 2024 | 4:56 PM IST
Centre holds all-party meet ahead of interim Budget session of Parliament

1 min read Last Updated :Jan 30 2024 | 1:05 PM IST
Rajasthan legislative assembly to commence its first session today

2 min read Last Updated :Jan 19 2024 | 8:35 AM IST
No mobile phones, tearing of documents, laughing out loud in UP Assembly

2 min read Last Updated :Aug 09 2023 | 5:04 PM IST
One cannot say big projects left Maharashtra: White Paper by state govt

3 min read Last Updated :Aug 03 2023 | 11:09 PM IST
Maha Legislative Council Deputy Chairperson Neelam Gorhe joins Shinde group

2 min read Last Updated :Jul 07 2023 | 10:22 PM IST
Judiciary cannot make legislation: Naidu on supremacy of legislature

2 min read Last Updated :Jun 17 2023 | 3:03 PM IST
Maha: Rebellion, a common thread running through Cong's Thorats, Tambes

4 min read Last Updated :Jan 13 2023 | 11:45 AM IST
Uttar Pradesh: BJP announces names of candidates for MLC elections

1 min read Last Updated :Jan 10 2023 | 11:02 AM IST
Maharashtra opposition leader seeks resignation of ministers Sattar, Samant

1 min read Last Updated :Dec 27 2022 | 2:40 PM IST
Maharashtra govt issues notice to wardens of 28 hostels for poor facilities

1 min read Last Updated :Dec 23 2022 | 6:42 PM IST
Maha council adjourned briefly as oppn targets Shinde over Nagpur land case

2 min read Last Updated :Dec 21 2022 | 4:04 PM IST
40 Congress lawmakers in Himachal to nominate legislative party leader

3 min read Last Updated :Dec 09 2022 | 12:41 PM IST
Karnataka Legislative Council passes contentious 'anti conversion bill'

2 min read Last Updated :Sep 15 2022 | 8:40 PM IST
Maharashtra Governor allows CM Shinde to withdraw MVA's 12 MLC nominee list

2 min read Last Updated :Sep 05 2022 | 1:22 PM IST
Former Maharashtra MLC Prabhakar Sant passes away at 90 in Thane's Kalyan

1 min read Last Updated :Aug 30 2022 | 12:10 PM IST
Maha Council clears bills on direct election of sarpanches, council heads

2 min read Last Updated :Aug 24 2022 | 7:16 AM IST
44% state bills passed within a day after they were tabled, shows report

5 min read Last Updated :Jul 29 2022 | 9:49 AM IST
Samajwadi Party loses Leader of Opposition post in UP Legislative Council

2 min read Last Updated :Jul 08 2022 | 6:27 PM IST