Business Standard
What is Ramon Magsaysay Award?

Ramon Magsaysay Award

About Ramon Magsaysay Award

What is Ramon Magsaysay Award?

Established in 1957, the Ramon Magsaysay Award was founded to preserve former Phillippine President Ramon Magsaysay's example of integrity in governance and idealism in a democratic society. It was funded by the Rockefeller Brothers trustees with Philippine government's agreement.

Ramon Magsaysay was the third president of the Philippines after World War II. The foundation gives the prize to Asians achieving excellence in their field. It has six categories, five of which were discontinued in 2009:
Government Service (Until 2008)
Public Service (Until 2008)
Community Leadership (Until 2008)
Journalism, Literature, and Creative Communication Arts (Until 2008)
Peace and International Understanding (Until 2008)
Emergent Leadership (2001–)
Uncategorized (2009–)

Ramon Magsaysay Award: Selection and presentation

The Award recognises and honours individuals and organisations in Asia, regardless of race, creed, gender, or nationality, who have achieved distinction and have helped others generously without aiming for public recognition.
The award has been given to over three hundred personalities and organisations in the past five decades. The trustees of the foundation annually select the awardees who are then presented with a certificate and a medal with an image of Ramon Magsaysay.
The award is presented in a formal ceremony in Manila, the capital of the Philippines on August 31 each year.
The first Ramon Magsaysay Awards were given to five individuals working in India, Indonesia, the Philippines, China (Taiwan) and Sri Lanka, and a Philippine-based organisation.


The 2019-2020 Board of Trustees
Chairman: Jose L Cuisia, Jr.
Vice-chairman: Dato Paduka Timothy Ong Teck Mong
President: Carmencita T. Abella
Treasurer:  Aurelio Luis R. Montinola


Randolf S. David
Ernesto Garilao
Cielito Habito
Toshinao Urabe
Cecilia Aldaba Lim-Lazaro
Ramon R. Del Rosario Jr.


India's Ravish Kumar (Journalist)
Thailand’s Angkhana Neelapajit (Human rights activist),
Philippines’ Raymundo Pujante Cayabyab (Musician),
Myanmar’s Ko Swe Win (Journalist),
South Korea’s Kim Jong-Ki, an activist working on violence and mental health issues in youth.
Ramon Magsaysay Award ceremony was cancelled in 2020 due to the coronavirus-induced pandemic.

Latest Updates on Ramon Magsaysay Award

Who was M S Swaminathan? The father of India's green revolution

4 min read Last Updated :Sep 28 2023 | 1:59 PM IST
M S Swaminathan, father of India's Green Revolution, passes away at 98

2 min read Last Updated :Sep 28 2023 | 1:33 PM IST
Dalai Lama gets 1959 Ramon Magsaysay Award in person after 64 years

2 min read Last Updated :Apr 26 2023 | 5:44 PM IST