Business Standard

PM Hasina's Awami League registers landslide victory in Bangladesh polls

Main opposition Bangladesh Nationalist Party of jailed ex-premier Khaleda Zia won just three seats

sheikh hasina, bangladesh PM, bangladesh PM, awami league, hasina

Bangladesh Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina flashes a victory sign as she speaks to the media persons after casting her vote in Bangladesh. (Photo: PTI)

Press Trust of India Dhaka

Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina cruised to victory for a third consecutive term in Bangladesh's general election on Sunday, following a tense vote that saw at least 17 people killed in poll-related violence and demands of a fresh election by the opposition, according to media reports.

According to media reports, the ruling Awami League-led coalition won over 260 seats in the 300-member House.

Private DBC TV aired results of 299 seats out of 300. The ruling Awami League-led grand alliance bagged 266 seats and its ally Jatiya Party secured 21, while the opposition National Unity Front (UNF) with BNP being its key

Don't miss the most important news and views of the day. Get them on our Telegram channel

First Published: Dec 31 2018 | 12:48 AM IST

Explore News

To read the full story, subscribe to BS Premium now, at just Rs 249/ month.

Key stories on are available only to BS Premium subscribers.

Register to