You are here: Home » News-IANS » Politics
Business Standard

BJP-led NEDA will win 19-21 seats in Northeast: Himanta

IANS  |  Guwahati 

Finance Minister on Sunday said the BJP and its allies will win between 19 and 21 seats out of the Northeast's 25 seats.

He also said the BJP under the leadership of will win the polls with a better margin than in 2014.

Assam's 14 constituencies will see polling in three phases on April 11, 18 and 23. and Tripura, which have two seats, will vote in two phases on April 11 and 18. (two seats), (one), (two), (one) and (one) will go to the polls on April 11.

"There are 25 seats in the Northeast. I think the BJP and its partners, who are members of the North East (NEDA), will win 19-21 seats. In Assam, the BJP and its allies are going to win between 9 and 11 seats," Sarma told on the sidelines of an event in Bokakhat.

The BJP's agenda for the Lok Sabha polls will be identity and development, he said.

The senior BJP leader, who was instrumental in ensuring the saffron victory in and other noertheastern states, also hinted that he might contest the Lok Sabha polls.

"It is up to the party. If the party gives ticket, I'll contest the polls," Sarma said.

He refused to comment on the BJP forming alliance with other parties in Assam, saying that only state unit could comment on the matter.

In the Northeast, the BJP is in power in Assam, Manipur, and Arunachal Pradesh, and a coalition in the National Peoples' Party-led government in and the National Democratic Progressive Party-led government in

In recent times, the BJP has faced some setback in the Northeast as different and organisations have opposed its move to pass the contentious Citizenship Bill in the Lok Sabha.

While its alliance in Assam, (AGP), has snapped its ties with the BJP due to the controversial bill, several other allies of the NEDA, including NPP, have threatened to quit the alliance if the bill is turned into an act.

The bill finally elapsed after the BJP failed to pass it in the Rajya Sabha during the previous Parliament session.



(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Mon, March 11 2019. 00:10 IST